Home | News | Program | Faculty | Courses | Seminar Series | Research & Facilities Facebook | Twitter  



Core faculty members from the founding departments are key enablers of the Program. They are the providers and instructors of various core and elective courses in the nanotechnology curriculum, as part of their regular teaching responsibilities in their academic departments. Listed below are current core faculty members by departments, together with their nano-relevant research interests and expertise. Additional core faculty members will be added to the list as relevant courses are introduced to the curriculum.

Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science (CEMS)

Pinar Akcora

Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering

ordered soft materials; self-assembly of nanoparticles; polymer nanohybrids

Ron Besser

Professor of Chemical Engineering

nano/micro-fabrication for microreactor technology

Henry Du

Professor of Materials Engineering

molecular and nano-scale surface modification and nanophotonic sensing and imaging

Dilhan Kalyon

Professor of Chemical Engineering

synthesis and fabrication of colloids, nanoparticles, and nanocomposites

Suphan Koven

Professor of Chemical Engineering

crystallization of nanopowders for energetics

Niyi Lawal

Professor of Chemical Engineering

microfluidic modeling and chemical synthesis using microreactors enabled by nanocatalytic surfaces

Stephanie Lee

Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering

hybrid metal-organic solar cells and transistors, crystal engineering of functional materials

Woo Lee

Professor of Materials Engineering

multi-scale synthesis and fabrication of novel structures, chemical/biological microsystems

Matt Libera

Professor of Materials Engineering

cell-material interactions and electron beam-assisted fabrication of biologically active nano-/micro-arrays

Simon Podkolzin

Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering

catalysis on nanoparticles of metals and metal oxides; chemical reaction kinetics at the nanoscale

Department of Chemistry, Chemical Biology & Biomedical Engineering (CCBBME)

Philip Leopold

Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology

nanoscale drug delivery

James Liang

Associate Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology

synthesis and nanofabrication of drugs and biomaterial surfaces for controlled release

Svetlana Sukhishvili

Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology

interfacial phenomena in polymers and biopolymers, controlled release, nanophotonic sensing

Hongjun Wang

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

nanomedicine and biomaterials design, cell signaling

Xiaojun Yu

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

regenerative medicine and cell-cell interaction

Department of Civil, Environmental, and Ocean Engineering (CEOE)

Christos Christodoulatos

Professor of Environmental Engineering

environmental behavior of nanoparticles and their use for water treatment

Dimitri Donskoy

Associate Professor of CEOE


Xiaoguang Meng

Professor of Environmental Engineering

science and technology of nanoparticulates for environmental remediation

Department of Mechanical Engineering (ME)

Chang-Hwan Choi

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Large-area surface nanopatterning, superhydrophobic nanostructured materials, multiscale fluid physics and heat transfer, microfluidic self-assembly, nanofluidic energy harvesting, optofluidic sensors

Frank Fisher

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering

nanocomposites and nanomechanics, bioinspired nanomaterials, nanosensors

Manu S. Mannoor

Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering

nanobionics, bionic nanosensors, bioinspired nanomaterials, nanomedicine

Yong Shi

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering

MEMS/NEMS design and fabrication, nanofibers and nanocomposites, smart structures

EH Yang

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

nano/microtechnologies for energy conversion, nanomanufacturing, nano/micro sensors, microactuators






Department of Physics and Engineering Physics (PEP)

Norman Horing

Professor of Physics

transport and dielectric response in nanostructures, nano-optics

Yu-Ping Huang

Assistant Professor of Physics

Quantum optics, AMO, Optical control, classical and quantum information processing

Rainer Martini

Associate Professor of Physics

semiconductor and semiconductor heterostructures for ultrafast switching, photonic sensing, control of quantum systems

Svetlana Malinovskaya

Associate Professor of Physics

AMO physics, ultrafast dynamics, control of quantum systems

Christopher Search

Associate Professor of Physics

quantum optics, control of quantum systems

Stefan Strauf

Associate Professor of Physics

nanophotonics, control of quantum systems

Ting Yu

Associate Professor of Physics

entanglement and decoherence of quantum nanodevices, continuous quantum measurement, quantum feedback control

The Howe School of Technology Management

Thomas Lechler

Associate Professor of Technology Management

project management, innovation management, entrepreneurship, global innovation management

Gary Lynn

Associate Professor of Technology Management

emerging technology, marketing, entrepreneurship and new product development