Local Information
Contact us
  General Description
The conference will be held from June 26th through June 30th 2017 at the Stevens Institute of Technology. Group theory, computability and algorithms have been inextricably intertwined since the fundamental papers of Max Dehn. The basis of all undecidability results in group theory and topology is the unsolvability of the word problem for finitely presented groups. There are many close links between group theory and automata theory and logic. The asymptotic-generic point of view of geometric group theory has recently led to new ideas in computational complexity and the theory of computability. This conference will explore several aspects of these connections.

The conference is dedicated to 80th birthday of Paul Schupp, whose work has played a central role in these developments.

 • Laszlo Babai (University of Chicago)
 • Tullio Ceccherini-Silberstein (University of Sannio)
 • Michel Coornaert (University of Strasbourg)
 • Volker Diekert (University of Stuttgart)
 • Rod Downey (Victoria University of Wellington)
 • Johanna Franklin (Hofstra University)
 • Dominik Gruber (ETH Zürich)
 • Susan Hermiller (University of Nebraska - Lincoln)
 • Denis Hirschfeldt (University of Chicago)
 • Derek Holt (University of Warwick)
 • Michael Hull (University of Florida)
 • Olga Kharlampovich (Hunter College of CUNY)
 • Anastasia Khukhro (University of Neuchatel)
 • Timothy McNicholl (Iowa State University)
 • Alexei Myasnikov (Stevens Institute of Technology)
 • Charles Miller III (University of Melbourne)
 • Dominique Perrin (University of Marne-la-Vallée)
 • Sarah Rees (Newcastle University)
 • Saul Schleimer (University of Warwick)
 • Vladimir Shpilrain (CUNY)
 • Géraud Sénizergues (University of Bordeaux)
 • Moshe Vardi (Rice University)
 • Daniel Wise (McGill University)
 ★  - to be confirmed

  Scientific committee:
 • Bob Gilman (Stevens Institute of Technology)
 • Carl Jockusch (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign )
 • Ilya Kapovich (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign )
 • Alexei Miasnikov (Stevens Institute of Technology)

  Local organizing committee:
 • Bob Gilman (Stevens Institute of Technology)
 • Denis Serbin (Stevens Institute of Technology)
 • Mahmood Sohrabi (Stevens Institute of Technology)
 • Nicholas Touikan (Stevens Institute of Technology)
 • Sasha Ushakov (Stevens Institute of Technology)

 • School of Engineering and Science, Stevens Institute of Technology
 • Department of Mathematical Sciences, Stevens Institute of Technology
 • National Science Foundation