Local Information
Contact us
  General Description
The conference will be held from June 14th through June 16th 2023 at the Stevens Institute of Technology. Group theory, computability and algorithms have been inextricably intertwined since the fundamental papers of Max Dehn. The basis of all undecidability results in group theory and topology is the unsolvability of the word problem for finitely presented groups. There are many close links between group theory and automata theory and logic. The asymptotic-generic point of view of geometric group theory has recently led to new ideas in computational complexity and the theory of computability. This conference will explore several aspects of these connections.

The conference is dedicated to 80th birthday of Bob Gilman, whose work has played a central role in these developments.

 • Martin Bridson (University of Oxford)
 • Andrew Duncan (Newcastle University)
 • Robert Griess (University of Michigan)
 • Susan Hermiller (University of Nebraska - Lincoln)
 • Derek Holt (University of Warwick)
 • Ilya Kapovich (Hunter College of CUNY)
 • Olga Kharlampovich (Hunter College of CUNY)
 • Marco Linton (University of Oxford)
 • Alexei Miasnikov (Stevens Institute of Technology)
 • Eamonn O'Brien (University of Auckland)
 • Sarah Rees (Newcastle University)
 • Tim Riley (Cornell University)
 • Saul Schleimer (University of Warwick)
 • Ronald Solomon (The Ohio State University)
 • Davide Spriano (University of Oxford)
 • Vladimir Shpilrain (City College of CUNY)
 • Alina Vdovina (City College of CUNY)
 ★  - to be confirmed

  Organizing committee:
 • Jan Cannizzo (Stevens Institute of Technology)
 • Alexei Miasnikov (Stevens Institute of Technology)
 • Andrey Nikolaev (Stevens Institute of Technology)
 • Denis Serbin (Stevens Institute of Technology)
 • Mahmood Sohrabi (Stevens Institute of Technology)
 • Sasha Ushakov (Stevens Institute of Technology)

 • School of Engineering and Science, Stevens Institute of Technology
 • Department of Mathematical Sciences, Stevens Institute of Technology
 • National Science Foundation